March 28, 2013

Game Developers Choice Awards Winners Announced!

Today, at the Game Developers Conference, the winners to the Game Developers Choice Awards were announced, with Journey by thatgamecompany taking 6 out of the 11 awards! Notable award winners include Bioware founders Dr. Ray Muzyka and Dr. Greg Zeschuk, who won the Lifetime Achievement Award. Chris Melissinos took home the Ambassador Award for his work on the exhibit The Art of Video Games. Finally, Spacewar! creator Steve Russell was presented with the Pioneer Award, 52 years after his game first ran on a computer, leading to today's advancements in the video game industry. The total list of winners follows:

Best Downloadable Game:  Journey (thatgamecompany)
Best Narrative: The Walking Dead (Telltale Games)
Best Visual Arts: Journey (thatgamecompany)
Ambassador Award: Chris Melissinos
Best Technology: Far Cry 3 (Ubisoft)
Best Game Design: Journey (thatgamecompany)
Best Handheld/Mobile Game: The Room (Fireproof Studios)
Best Audio: Journey (thatgamecompany)
Pioneer Award: Steve Russell
Best Debut: FTL: Faster Than Light (Subset Games)
Innovation Award: Journey (thatgamecompany)
Audience Choice Award: Dishonored (Arkane Studios)
Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Ray Muzyka and Dr. Greg Zeschuk
Game of the Year: Journey (thatgamecompany)